Tags

, , , ,


Writing 101, Day Twelve: (Virtual) Dark Clouds on the Horizon

Today, write a post with roots in a real-world conversation. For a twist, include foreshadowing.

This is the hardest of the assignment for me as I have been looking for worthy real-world conversation to share. But I guess that perfect moment might never come, so I’ll just shoot it. Here it goes.


Approval

Over the course of breathing everyday’s life, very often that we get side-tracked. Deviated from original goals and getting lost in the process. Most of the time, experience, patience and knowledge will lead one back to the right path, but the question is what IS the right path? Which way is it? Especially during the process, new beliefs or ideas might contradict with original goals. In psychology it’s called Cognitive Dissonance.

“I’m really not sure if this is the answer to my problem”, I said.

“You are not sure?” he asked.

“Yeah, I know one can’t expect immediate result”

“Then?”

“Then!? I need your opinion if this is the right choice!”

As an idealist, one will always see both sides of a coin. There is no silver bullet to answer to all life’s problems, not even the “Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, the Universe and Everything“. It’s only natural if one questions the skepticism and hesitation that might have surfaced.

“I have no experience as a blogger, I don’t even know how to write!”, I continued.

“What’s the worst that could happen?”, he asked.

“People laugh at me? No one would read my blog?”

“What’s your purpose to start a blog again?”

“To help more people like I helped others” I replied. “I was like a help-desk you know, people would consult with me all the time.” Without handing him the seconds to voice his opinion, “Ultimately, I want to develop the skill of writing.”

The talk continued for several hours, procrastination follows and the subject might occasionally transformed into bikes, movies and even stand-up comedy. Deliberately, the subject take another right turn at the intersection and back on-track. Facts and opinions clashed resulting in even more blurry and winding path to the exit sign. Questions and answers starts untangling slowly. Insights are coned as every piece of concepts unveils limitless possibilities.

“From our lengthy discussion, I can tell that you don’t need my opinion”, he said. “All you seek is my approval.”

—A.N.

 

